rawling gold Glove

Rawlings Gold Glove Award 2023 Finalists Announced

Rawlings Gold Glove Ward shortlisted

Rawlings Gold Glove Award 2023

Greetings! Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. has just announced the highly anticipated finalists for the 2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Award, a prestigious accolade that celebrates outstanding individual fielding performances in both the American League and National League of Major League Baseball. These remarkable athletes will be recognized during a special edition of “Baseball Tonight” on ESPN, which is scheduled to air on Sunday, November 5, 2023, at 7:30 p.m. ET.

The history of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award is steeped in tradition. While it was first introduced in 1957, it wasn’t until 2011 that Rawlings began showcasing the top three defenders at each position as finalists. This year, the Texas Rangers and the Toronto Blue Jays stand out in the American League, boasting five finalists each, while the Los Angeles Dodgers and Philadelphia Phillies lead the National League with four finalists each.

The 2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists represent a diverse group of athletes, including established veterans and up-and-coming stars. This diversity promises an exciting debate around defensive prowess when the winners are finally revealed.

The selection process for these awards is a rigorous one. Each team’s manager and up to six coaches on their staff vote for the most deserving players within their respective leagues. It’s important to note that they cannot vote for players from their own team. The introduction of the SABR Defensive Index (SDI) in 2013 brought an additional layer of complexity to the selection process. The SDI now contributes to approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the majority of the weight still being placed on the votes from managers and coaches.

Apart from the traditional position awards, Rawlings also collaborates with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) to identify utility award winners. This process involves a specialized defensive formula that stands apart from the conventional selection method.

The list of the 2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists includes some truly remarkable talent:


  • Pitchers: José Berríos (Toronto Blue Jays), Pablo López (Minnesota Twins), Sonny Gray (Minnesota Twins)
  • Catchers: Adley Rutschman (Baltimore Orioles), Jonah Heim (Texas Rangers), Alejandro Kirk (Toronto Blue Jays)
  • First Basemen: Anthony Rizzo (New York Yankees), Nathaniel Lowe (Texas Rangers), Ryan Mountcastle (Baltimore Orioles)
  • Second Basemen: Mauricio Dubón (Houston Astros), Marcus Semien (Texas Rangers), Andrés Giménez (Cleveland Guardians)
  • Third Basemen: Matt Chapman (Toronto Blue Jays), José Ramírez (Cleveland Guardians), Alex Bregman (Houston Astros)
  • Shortstops: Anthony Volpe (New York Yankees), Corey Seager (Texas Rangers), Carlos Correa (Minnesota Twins)
  • Left Fielders: Austin Hays (Baltimore Orioles), Daulton Varsho (Toronto Blue Jays), Steven Kwan (Cleveland Guardians)
  • Center Fielders: Julio Rodríguez (Seattle Mariners), Kevin Kiermaier (Toronto Blue Jays), Luis Robert Jr. (Chicago White Sox)
  • Right Fielders: Kyle Tucker (Houston Astros), Adolis García (Texas Rangers), Alex Verdugo (Boston Red Sox)
  • Utility Players: Mauricio Dubón (Houston Astros), Zach McKinstry (Detroit Tigers), Taylor Walls (Tampa Bay Rays)


  • Pitchers: Jesús Luzardo (Miami Marlins), Zack Wheeler (Philadelphia Phillies), Taijuan Walker (Philadelphia Phillies)
  • Catchers: Patrick Bailey (San Francisco Giants), Gabriel Moreno (Arizona Diamondbacks), J.T. Realmuto (Philadelphia Phillies)
  • First Basemen: Carlos Santana (Milwaukee Brewers), Freddie Freeman (Los Angeles Dodgers), Christian Walker (Arizona Diamondbacks)
  • Second Basemen: Ha-Seong Kim (San Diego Padres), Nico Hoerner (Chicago Cubs), Bryson Stott (Philadelphia Phillies)
  • Third Basemen: Austin Riley (Atlanta Braves), Ryan McMahon (Colorado Rockies), Ke’Bryan Hayes (Pittsburgh Pirates)
  • Shortstops: Francisco Lindor (New York Mets), Dansby Swanson (Chicago Cubs), Ezequiel Tovar (Colorado Rockies)
  • Left Fielders: Ian Happ (Chicago Cubs), David Peralta (Los Angeles Dodgers), Eddie Rosario (Atlanta Braves)
  • Center Fielders: Brenton Doyle (Colorado Rockies), Michael Harris II (Atlanta Braves), Alek Thomas (Arizona Diamondbacks)
  • Right Fielders: Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Fernando Tatis Jr. (San Diego Padres), Lane Thomas (Washington Nationals)
  • Utility Players: Ha-Seong Kim (San Diego Padres), Tommy Edman (St. Louis Cardinals), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers)

It’s worth noting that the 2023 finalists include nine former Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in the American League and eight former winners in the National League, underlining the consistency and excellence of these players.

Once the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners are announced during the ESPN special, fans will have a chance to cast their votes for their favorite defensive players in each league. This will determine who will be named the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners, the highest honor for defensive excellence in baseball. The final decision will be based on a combination of the national fan vote and the SDI.

for more articles

Voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented in collaboration with SABR, will kick off on Sunday, November 5, at 8:30 p.m. ET and will remain open until Thursday, November 9, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The winners of the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award will be unveiled at the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony, which is set to take place in New York City on Friday, November 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *